
Notary Public Training and Filing Fees 
in S.C. and other Southeastern states 

Included in the Secretary of State’s (SoS) January 17, 2020 letter to the House Legislative Oversight Committee 
(LOC).  This information was provided in response to the following questions in LOC’s December 12, 2019, 
letter to the SoS:  

29. Please provide a list of other states in the Southeast that require some type of training prior to becoming a
notary and the type of training required. 

30. Please provide a table listing the fee for notary public applications and, change in status forms, in South
Carolina and fees for comparable filings in other Southeastern states.” 

In addition to providing the information in this document, SoS provided the following response: 
 Please see the table that is provided in Attachment F.
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Notary Fees by State- Southeastern United States (regular notaries only- not online or eNotaries) 

State Application Fee Renewal Fee Other Fees Agency Responsible Term Education/Course 
Required? 

Exam? Journal? Bond? Statute 

Alabama $10.00 for each 
commission issued 

$10.00 for each 
commission issued 

None seen. Appointed and commissioned by Probate Judges who 
report information to 
Secretary of State 

4 years No No No $25,000.00 Act 200-295 

Arkansas $20.00 $20.00 None seen. Secretary of State 10 years No Yes No $7,500.00 Title 21, 
Chapter 14 

Florida $25.00, with a 
$10.00 commission 
fee, & $4.00 
surcharge 

$25.00, with a 
$10.00 commission 
fee, & $4.00 
surcharge 

$25.00 for amended commission 
(name change) 

Appointed by Governor, applications to bonding 
agencies who then forward to Department of State. New 
notaries receive their commissions from the bonding 
agency.  

4 years Yes, for first time 
applicants. 

No No $7,500.00 Title X, Chapter 
117, Part 1 

Georgia $37.00-$52.00, 
depending on 
county 

$37.00-$52.00, 
depending on 
county 

None seen. Commissioned by Clerk of Superior Court in county of 
residence. Statewide database maintained by Georgia 
Superior Court Clerks’ Cooperative Authority (GSCCCA) 

4 years No No No No Title 45, 
Chapter 17 

Kentucky $10.00 $10.00 $10.00 for commission updates 
and duplicate commissions 

Secretary of State 4 years No No No $1,000.00 Law change 
effective 
1/1/2020- KRS 
Chapter 423 

Louisiana $35.00 $35.00 Application for Non Resident Ex 
Officio Status ($35.00) 
Commission Fee($35.00) 
Certificate of Notary Commission 
($20.00) 
Name Change ($35.00) 
Notary Bond Renewal or Error & 
Omissions Renewal ($20.00) 
Notary Exam Pre-Assessment 
($30.00) 
Notary Public Examination 
Registration ($100.00) 
Notary Study Guide ($100.00) 
Replacement ID Card ($3.00) 
Replacement Notary Certificate 
($15.00) 

Appointed by the Governor with advice and consent of 
the Senate. Application and qualifying process under 
Secretary of State. 

For life No Yes No $10,000.00 
(except 
licensed 
attorneys) 

R.S. Title 35 

Mississippi $25.00 $25.00 Change of Address ($20.00) 
Change of Name ($20.00) 
Replacement Commission 
($20.00) 
Resignation or Death ($0.00) 

Appointed by the Governor. Processed by the Secretary 
of State.  

4 years No No Yes $5,000.00 Sec. 25-33-1 to 
-33 
Notary Rules 
and Regulations 

North 
Carolina 

$50.00 $50.00 Certificate of Moral Character: 
$0.00 
Name/Address Change Form: 
$0.00 

Commissioned by the Secretary of State. 5 years Yes, for initial 
notary commission. 

Yes 
(unless a 
licensed 
NC 
attorney) 

No No Chapter 10B 
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https://www.sos.alabama.gov/sites/default/files/notaries-public/notaryPublicHandbook.pdf
https://www.sos.alabama.gov/administrative-services/notaries-public
http://arc-sos.state.al.us/PAC/SOSACPDF.001/A0008589.PDF
https://www.sos.arkansas.gov/business-commercial-services-bcs/notary-public-and-enotary
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=d2d9400f-9e66-4845-bdad-d8b2e52210df&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=00JAA2ZjZiM2VhNS0wNTVlLTQ3NzUtYjQzYy0yYWZmODJiODRmMDYKAFBvZENhdGFsb2fXiYCnsel0plIgqpYkw9PK&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4MSS-F210-R03M-14PX-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234171&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAVAAOAACAAB&ecomp=9s-fkkk&prid=073c48b8-4ff3-4088-bd2e-4e861c2752aa
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=d2d9400f-9e66-4845-bdad-d8b2e52210df&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=00JAA2ZjZiM2VhNS0wNTVlLTQ3NzUtYjQzYy0yYWZmODJiODRmMDYKAFBvZENhdGFsb2fXiYCnsel0plIgqpYkw9PK&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4MSS-F210-R03M-14PX-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234171&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAVAAOAACAAB&ecomp=9s-fkkk&prid=073c48b8-4ff3-4088-bd2e-4e861c2752aa
https://www.flgov.com/notary_how_to/
https://www.flgov.com/notary_how_to/
https://www.flgov.com/notary_how_to/
https://www.flgov.com/notary_how_to/
https://www.flgov.com/notary_how_to/
https://www.flgov.com/notary_how_to/
https://www.flsenate.gov/Laws/Statutes/2019/Chapter117/Part_I
https://www.flsenate.gov/Laws/Statutes/2019/Chapter117/Part_I
https://www.gsccca.org/notary-and-apostilles/notaries/general-notary-information#:~:targetText=How%20do%20I%20become%20a%20notary%3F&targetText=Complete%20a%20notary%20application%20and%20bring%20it%20to%20the%20Clerk,a%20notary%20certificate%20of%20appointment.
https://www.gsccca.org/notary-and-apostilles/notaries/general-notary-information#:~:targetText=How%20do%20I%20become%20a%20notary%3F&targetText=Complete%20a%20notary%20application%20and%20bring%20it%20to%20the%20Clerk,a%20notary%20certificate%20of%20appointment.
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=2213bd42-66e5-49ff-961c-6c3ab4f0f24d&nodeid=ABTAATAACAAC&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FABT%2FABTAAT%2FABTAATAAC%2FABTAATAACAAC&level=4&haschildren=&populated=false&title=%C2%A7+45-17-1.+Definitions&config=00JAA1MDBlYzczZi1lYjFlLTQxMTgtYWE3OS02YTgyOGM2NWJlMDYKAFBvZENhdGFsb2feed0oM9qoQOMCSJFX5qkd&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A5WRH-YDD1-FBV7-B034-00008-00&ecomp=h3t7kkk&prid=7c293abd-3a4e-4c45-8896-fc5741d9a414
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=2213bd42-66e5-49ff-961c-6c3ab4f0f24d&nodeid=ABTAATAACAAC&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FABT%2FABTAAT%2FABTAATAAC%2FABTAATAACAAC&level=4&haschildren=&populated=false&title=%C2%A7+45-17-1.+Definitions&config=00JAA1MDBlYzczZi1lYjFlLTQxMTgtYWE3OS02YTgyOGM2NWJlMDYKAFBvZENhdGFsb2feed0oM9qoQOMCSJFX5qkd&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A5WRH-YDD1-FBV7-B034-00008-00&ecomp=h3t7kkk&prid=7c293abd-3a4e-4c45-8896-fc5741d9a414
https://www.sos.ky.gov/bus/businessrecords/notaries/Pages/default.aspx
https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/chapter.aspx?id=39284
https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/chapter.aspx?id=39284
https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/chapter.aspx?id=39284
https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/chapter.aspx?id=39284
https://www.sos.la.gov/NotaryAndCertifications/FileNotaryDocuments/GetFormsAndFeeSchedule/Pages/default.aspx
https://www.sos.la.gov/NotaryAndCertifications/FileNotaryDocuments/GetFormsAndFeeSchedule/Pages/default.aspx
https://www.sos.la.gov/NotaryAndCertifications/FileNotaryDocuments/GetFormsAndFeeSchedule/Pages/default.aspx
https://www.sos.la.gov/NotaryAndCertifications/FileNotaryDocuments/GetFormsAndFeeSchedule/Pages/default.aspx
https://www.sos.la.gov/NotaryAndCertifications/FileNotaryDocuments/GetFormsAndFeeSchedule/Pages/default.aspx
https://www.sos.la.gov/NotaryAndCertifications/FileNotaryDocuments/GetFormsAndFeeSchedule/Pages/default.aspx
https://www.sos.la.gov/NotaryAndCertifications/FileNotaryDocuments/GetFormsAndFeeSchedule/Pages/default.aspx
https://www.sos.la.gov/NotaryAndCertifications/FileNotaryDocuments/GetFormsAndFeeSchedule/Pages/default.aspx
https://www.sos.la.gov/NotaryAndCertifications/FileNotaryDocuments/GetFormsAndFeeSchedule/Pages/default.aspx
https://www.sos.la.gov/NotaryAndCertifications/FileNotaryDocuments/GetFormsAndFeeSchedule/Pages/default.aspx
https://www.sos.la.gov/NotaryAndCertifications/FileNotaryDocuments/GetFormsAndFeeSchedule/Pages/default.aspx
https://www.sos.la.gov/NotaryAndCertifications/FileNotaryDocuments/GetFormsAndFeeSchedule/Pages/default.aspx
https://www.sos.la.gov/NotaryAndCertifications/FileNotaryDocuments/GetFormsAndFeeSchedule/Pages/default.aspx
https://www.sos.la.gov/NotaryAndCertifications/FileNotaryDocuments/GetFormsAndFeeSchedule/Pages/default.aspx
https://www.sos.la.gov/NotaryAndCertifications/FileNotaryDocuments/GetFormsAndFeeSchedule/Pages/default.aspx
https://www.sos.la.gov/NotaryAndCertifications/FileNotaryDocuments/GetFormsAndFeeSchedule/Pages/default.aspx
http://www.legis.la.gov/legis/Law.aspx?d=92591
http://www.legis.la.gov/legis/Law.aspx?d=92591
https://www.sos.la.gov/NotaryAndCertifications/Pages/default.aspx
https://www.sos.la.gov/NotaryAndCertifications/Pages/default.aspx
http://www.legis.la.gov/legis/Laws_Toc.aspx?folder=75&level=Parent
https://www.sos.ms.gov/Pages/Fees-Forms-Notary-Public.aspx
https://www.sos.ms.gov/Pages/Fees-Forms-Notary-Public.aspx
https://www.sos.ms.gov/Pages/Fees-Forms-Notary-Public.aspx
https://www.sos.ms.gov/Pages/Fees-Forms-Notary-Public.aspx
https://www.sos.ms.gov/Pages/Fees-Forms-Notary-Public.aspx
https://www.sos.ms.gov/BusinessServices/Pages/Notaries-Apostilles.aspx
https://www.sos.ms.gov/BusinessServices/Pages/Notaries-Apostilles.aspx
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=db7cf425-1f0f-4938-bd42-2d0974797ec7&nodeid=AAOAAPAAB&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAO%2FAAOAAP%2FAAOAAPAAB&level=3&haschildren=&populated=false&title=%C2%A7+25-33-1.+Appointment%2C+bond+and+oath%3B+issuance+of+new+certificate%3B+qualifications.&config=00JABhZDIzMTViZS04NjcxLTQ1MDItOTllOS03MDg0ZTQxYzU4ZTQKAFBvZENhdGFsb2f8inKxYiqNVSihJeNKRlUp&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A8P6B-8102-D6RV-H1CW-00008-00&ecomp=h3t7kkk&prid=231ced15-2d89-40d8-945a-2c3e788ecaa9
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=db7cf425-1f0f-4938-bd42-2d0974797ec7&nodeid=AAOAAPAAB&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAO%2FAAOAAP%2FAAOAAPAAB&level=3&haschildren=&populated=false&title=%C2%A7+25-33-1.+Appointment%2C+bond+and+oath%3B+issuance+of+new+certificate%3B+qualifications.&config=00JABhZDIzMTViZS04NjcxLTQ1MDItOTllOS03MDg0ZTQxYzU4ZTQKAFBvZENhdGFsb2f8inKxYiqNVSihJeNKRlUp&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A8P6B-8102-D6RV-H1CW-00008-00&ecomp=h3t7kkk&prid=231ced15-2d89-40d8-945a-2c3e788ecaa9
https://www.sos.ms.gov/BusinessServices/Documents/Notary/Notary%20rules%20and%20regs.pdf
https://www.sos.ms.gov/BusinessServices/Documents/Notary/Notary%20rules%20and%20regs.pdf
https://www.ncleg.gov/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_10B/GS_10B-5.pdf
https://www.ncleg.gov/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_10B/GS_10B-8.pdf
https://www.ncleg.gov/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_10B/GS_10B-8.pdf
https://www.ncleg.gov/Laws/GeneralStatuteSections/Chapter10B


State Application Fee Renewal Fee Other Fees Agency Responsible Term Education/Course 
Required? 

Exam? Journal? Bond? Statute 

South 
Carolina 

$25.00 $25.00 $10.00 for change in status form 
(name change, address change, & 
duplicate copy) 

Appointed by the Governor, endorsed by legislative 
delegation, and commissioned by the Secretary of State. 

10 years No No No No Title 26, 
Chapter 1 

Tennessee $12.00 ($7 for 
County Clerk and 
$5 for Secretary of 
State) 

$12.00 ($7 for 
County Clerk and 
$5 for Secretary of 
State) 

Name/County change: $7.00 Application submitted to County Clerk, elected by 
county commission, and proof of bond and application 
submitted to Secretary of State who issues commission. 

4 years No No Yes, if a 
fee is 
received 

$10,000.00 Title 8, Chapter 
16 

Virginia $45.00, plus 
$10.00 to Clerk at 
Circuit Court when 
taking the oath. 

Unclear, but 
appears to be the 
same as the initial 
application. 

Unclear Appointed by the Governor. 
Commissioned by the Secretary of the Commonwealth. 
Takes the oath of office at the Circuit Court. 

4 years No No No No Title 47.1 

West 
Virginia 

$52.00 (waived for 
state and local 
gov’t employees) 
Expedite Fee: 
24 hour- $25.00 
2 hour- $250.00 
1 hour- $500.00 

$52.00 No fee for name/address changes 
or resignation 

Secretary of State process applications and issues 
commissions. 

5 years No No No No Title 39, Article 
4 
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https://sos.sc.gov/sites/default/files/Documents/Mail%20In%20Service/Notaries/ChangeinStatus2019.pdf
https://sos.sc.gov/sites/default/files/Documents/Mail%20In%20Service/Notaries/Notary%20Public%20Reference%20Manual%202019.pdf
https://sos.sc.gov/sites/default/files/Documents/Mail%20In%20Service/Notaries/Notary%20Public%20Reference%20Manual%202019.pdf
https://www.scstatehouse.gov/code/t26c001.php
https://www.scstatehouse.gov/code/t26c001.php
https://sos.tn.gov/products/business-services/how-become-notary
https://sos.tn.gov/products/business-services/how-become-notary
https://sos.tn.gov/products/business-services/how-become-notary
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=5ddc85f8-a25e-4bef-831b-72057717ac04&nodeid=AAIAAVAAMAAB&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIAAV%2FAAIAAVAAM%2FAAIAAVAAMAAB&level=4&haschildren=&populated=false&title=8-21-1201.+Fees+for+services+--+When+recordation+required+--+Notaries+employed+by+financial+institutions.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-T4C0-R03M-73DK-00008-00&ecomp=h3t7kkk&prid=9babca2c-9c95-470f-946b-4ad4afbc89bb
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=5ddc85f8-a25e-4bef-831b-72057717ac04&nodeid=AAIAAVAAMAAB&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIAAV%2FAAIAAVAAM%2FAAIAAVAAMAAB&level=4&haschildren=&populated=false&title=8-21-1201.+Fees+for+services+--+When+recordation+required+--+Notaries+employed+by+financial+institutions.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-T4C0-R03M-73DK-00008-00&ecomp=h3t7kkk&prid=9babca2c-9c95-470f-946b-4ad4afbc89bb
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=5ddc85f8-a25e-4bef-831b-72057717ac04&nodeid=AAIAAVAAMAAB&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIAAV%2FAAIAAVAAM%2FAAIAAVAAMAAB&level=4&haschildren=&populated=false&title=8-21-1201.+Fees+for+services+--+When+recordation+required+--+Notaries+employed+by+financial+institutions.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-T4C0-R03M-73DK-00008-00&ecomp=h3t7kkk&prid=9babca2c-9c95-470f-946b-4ad4afbc89bb
https://advance.lexis.com/container?config=014CJAA5ZGVhZjA3NS02MmMzLTRlZWQtOGJjNC00YzQ1MmZlNzc2YWYKAFBvZENhdGFsb2e9zYpNUjTRaIWVfyrur9ud&crid=9babca2c-9c95-470f-946b-4ad4afbc89bb
https://advance.lexis.com/container?config=014CJAA5ZGVhZjA3NS02MmMzLTRlZWQtOGJjNC00YzQ1MmZlNzc2YWYKAFBvZENhdGFsb2e9zYpNUjTRaIWVfyrur9ud&crid=9babca2c-9c95-470f-946b-4ad4afbc89bb
https://www.commonwealth.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/secretary-of-the-commonwealth/pdf/2015-important-guidelines-for-virginia-notaries-3-15.pdf
https://www.commonwealth.virginia.gov/official-documents/notary-commissions/
https://www.commonwealth.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/secretary-of-the-commonwealth/pdf/2017-December-15-revised-Handbook-.pdf
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title47.1/
https://sos.wv.gov/business/Pages/NotaryFormsFees.aspx
https://sos.wv.gov/business/Pages/NotaryFormsFees.aspx
https://sos.wv.gov/FormSearch/Business/Documents/Notary-Handbook.pdf
https://sos.wv.gov/FormSearch/Business/Documents/Notary-Handbook.pdf
http://www.wvlegislature.gov/WVCODE/Code.cfm?chap=39&art=4#04
http://www.wvlegislature.gov/WVCODE/Code.cfm?chap=39&art=4#04



